Home All John1911’s Scott Mayer Named Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year

John1911’s Scott Mayer Named Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year

Scott Mayer Named Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the year John1911.com

We’re pleased to announce that one of John1911’s regular contributors, Scott Mayer, is the 2016 Carl Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year.

Mayer started his career 24 years ago on the NRA Technical staff where he became American Rifleman’s first Shooting Editor. There he developed not only his writing skill and firearms knowledge, but also helped with scripting and appearing on the first seasons of American Rifleman TV.

After 10 years with NRA, Mayer briefly sold advertising for SCI’s SAFARI magazine and Safari Times newspaper, and was quickly recruited by Primedia as Publisher of Shooting Times magazine. Concurrent with that position, Mayer was made producer of Personal Defense TV—the first show of its kind on Sportsman Channel—and led it through six successful seasons.

Mayer served as online editorial director for InterMedia’s Guns & Ammo, Shooting Times, Rifleshooter and Handguns websites, and was digital media director for an ABC TV affiliate in the Washington, D.C. area.

Today, Mayer is back with Safari Club International as the club’s Assistant Publisher and Multi-Media Communications Editor, and continues to express his print, digital and video talents through various outlets, including John1911.

“Scott is an extremely gifted writer, producer and champion of the outdoors,” said Joel Harris, Head of Global Public Relations for Carl Zeiss SBE, LLC. “He skillfully communicates the experiences with colorful insight along with accurate and in-depth technical information in a format that’s easy to digest. His passion and appreciation for the outdoors resonates throughout all of his work. We are proud to honor him with this award.”

”Scott brings a lot to the table. He not only understands hunting and shooting, but he is keenly aware of the art, science and technology of the shooting sports industry —knowledge that helps relay complex concepts to the reader in easily understandable terms,” said Steve Comus, Editor-In-Chief, Publisher and Director of Publications for Safari Club International. “Additionally, his knowledge and expertise in the digital world allows for an uncommon ability to meld print and digital together in symbiotic ways that result in more than simply the aggregate of both. Particularly impressive is his understanding of analytics in ways that enable him to figure out what works and what doesn’t — and then act on success.”

In Mayer’s long career in the outdoors arena, he and the teams he has worked with have amassed some impressive accolades:

  • 2009 OVGuide “Viewser’s Choice” Award for www.gunsandammo.com
  • 2010 Silver Telly Award for Personal Defense TV
  • 2014 Platinum MarCom Award for Hunt Now! e-newsletter
  • 2014 Platinum MarCom Award for SAFARI Magazine
  • 2015 Gold AVA Digital Award for www.huntforever.org blog
  • 2015 Finalist MAGGIE Award for Hunt Now! e-newsletter
  • 2015 Gold Hermes Award for Hunt Now! e-newsletter
  • 2015 Communicator Award of Distinction for SAFARI Magazine
  • 2015 APEX Award of Excellence for www.huntforever.org
  • 2015 Communicator Award of Distinction for SAFARI Magazine
  • 2016 Communicator Award of Excellence for Safari Club Facebook
  • 2016 TMT News “Best of the Best” for SAFARI Magazine

A custom plaque recognizing his achievements and contributions to the hunting and shooting sports will be presented to Mayer during the 2017 Safari Club International Convention in Las Vegas the week of January 29, 2017. 

Established in 2003, the Carl Zeiss Outdoor Writer of the Year Award is in its 13th year. The previous winners are: Wayne van Zwoll (2003), David Fortier (2004), David Petzal (2005), Ron Spomer (2006), John Barsness (2007), Terry Wieland (2008), Craig Boddington (2009), John Zent (2010), Andrew McKean (2011), Mike Schoby (2012), Thomas McIntyre (2013), Joseph Von Benedikt (2014), Karen Mehall Phillips (2015).

Latest posts by Admin (see all)